How much Is Our Clothes Really Worth. The True Cost Review part 2

So May 29,2015, I went to see this fashion documentary called The True Cost, I hope you will check out the YouTube trailer that I posted previously the trailer is what really inspired me to go. Anyway the gathering was small with environmental activist, fashionistas, fashion students, and aspiring fashion lawyers, all came to watch this documentary. At the end of the film there was an open discussion, so many thoughts,so many ideas. So I went in ignorant of what really going on in the world, to a person who now is thirst for more about what is really happening. This documentary was amazingly eye-opening, bone chilling, and touched you in a way that you will never look at your own clothes the same ever again. I think personally, information is power, so why not use it  to spark a real change. That is why I’m writing this review I am hoping this blog leads to more than just writing, but a voice of my opinion on how true this documentary is.

I’m just going to give you enough information about the documentary, but I encourage all artist, aspiring fashion designers and merchandisers, to watch The True Cost. The title alone speaks for it self how much is our clothing really worth, and I have to say NOT HIGH ENOUGH. When it first started the fashion was beautiful everything you could ever dream of. But behind everything are smoke and mirrors covering the real truth which are tears, suffering, and unfairness.

Fact: 95% of factories used to be in the U.S. now its only 3% the rest of that percentage is now outsourced. Clothing factory workers in Cambodia, IndiaBangladesh make at least $3 a day or less(I’m talking pennies). The workers are being treated horribly I’m talking; violence, death, pollution, diseases, bad working conditions, corruption(Big companies that make fatal pesticide, also make the medicine just to making more profit). Clothing factory workers are being unethically mistreated, and to demand better working conditions could  lead to death. Then there are the children, parents working in clothing factories for long hours; don’t even get to see their children 1 to 2 times out of year in Bangladesh. they are out slaving to make clothing we wear so that they can give their children an education. That scene in the documentary made me feel so thankful that I was able to see my mom and dad every day while growing up, and tell them I love them. I was just really glad the director of this movie didn’t show children working in factories then the water works would really would be coming (even though it is known that in third world countries children actually work in factories in bad conditions ).

In the United States What is organic? after watching this documentary, it is shocking. You would think when you go in to a clothing store your buying something that says and that is labeled organic. I’m tell you now, IT IS NOT, genetically modified plants, have been sprayed with HARMFUL chemicals in our cotton.

At the end of the documentary I was shocked ashamed, and sickened. I saw actual consumers talk about how much they love their clothes,  how beautiful it looks, how good it will look on me, and how much of a good, low price it was. When actually they don’t stop and think how much suffering, long hours, and sacrifice went into making those beautiful, cheap clothes you wear (sorry if it come out harsh, but its the truth). In the end big corporations are the ones make most of the profit, while the actual worker get paid close to nothing.

Fashion is number two leading cause of pollution. fashion uses a lot of resources at least 11 million in textile waste. A lot of the resources are not included in the cost.

I am not writing this because I’m telling you to hate fashion, I love fashion, I love the way it make me feel, beautiful. I’m just saying there has to be a better way so that every side wins, and for that to happen the fashion world just need to stop and think. The cheap prices of what you get from clothing stores actually comes at a much higher price than you think. Are you willing to pay a higher price so that others in a another country can have better working conditions. are you willing to spread this message around to spark a change.

A message to future designers and merchandisers need to form a change and set some standards for the future. We cant continue this way.

Do you really think in 10 year we will we see a change in how fashion does things?

Darkangel689

 

Leave a Reply

